Skip to Main Content

Governor's Commission on Service and Volunteerism


Purpose of the Commission

The Governor's Commission on Service and Volunteerism was created and appointed by the Governor in 1994 to review and approve all AmeriCorps State funding in Maryland and to serve as a body of ambassadors for service and volunteerism in local communities. With the Governor's approval, the Commission may apply to the Corporation for National and Community Service, the federal agency that manages AmeriCorps, and other public and private sources for additional funding. Under the National and Community Service Trust Act of 1993, Governor-appointed service commissions are required to oversee each state's AmeriCorps activities and resources. The Act also requires each state to develop, update, and implement a three-year strategic plan for service which sets funding and program priorities for allocation of AmeriCorps funds and promotes volunteerism and community service broadly.

February 17, 2016 Annapolis, MD 11:00 am to 2:00 pm
April 20, 2016 TBD 10:30 am to 2:00 pm
June 15, 2016 TBD TBD
September 28, 2016 TBD TBD

Who are the Commissioners?

The Commission consists of the State Superintendent of Schools and members appointed by the Governor to three-year terms.

In addition, the Governor may appoint community members with significant experience and knowledge of issues related to service and volunteerism.


Anita Maddox Jackson is the chief of staff to Baltimore Gas and Electric Company's (BGE) chief executive officer. In addition to that role, she leads BGE's strategic approach to diversity and inclusion, and oversees the BGE Diversity Council Initiatives.

Casey Schurman, Vice Chair, is a teacher at Bollman Bridge Elementary school. She serves as board member for Pathways, is the Chair of the Oriole Advocate’s fundraising committee, and volunteers for the Ravens Punt, Pass, Kick program.

Autumn Rose, ex officio, is the Program Officer for the Maryland/Delaware State Office of the Corporation for National and Community Service and an alumna of AmeriCorps VISTA (Volunteers in Service to America).

Cole McMahon is a Partner in the McMahon Consulting Group, where he works with state service commissions and AmeriCorps programs to get more done with less and help programs work better, tell a better story, and raise more money. Cole has 20 years of national service experience, most recently as Director of Equal Justice Works AmeriCorps, the nation's largest public interest legal fellowship program.

Crystal Biles, ex officio, is the State Program Director of the Maryland and Delaware State Office of the Corporation for National and Community Service and an alumna of AmeriCorps VISTA (Volunteers in Service to America).

DeAnna Murphy has worked for GCC in Oakland, MD since 2009. Her current role is Community Involvement Project Manager.

Erin Lewis is a State Farm Agent in Lexington Park. She is Founder of the Dream Queen Association, a place where positive, passionate, purpose-filled women come together to live their dreams and celebrate one another. She serves on the Advisory Council for the Non-Profit Institute at the College of Southern Maryland.

Lt. John P. Neary serves as fire lieutenant for the Frederick County Department of Fire Rescue Services. He is also the president of the Career Fire Fighters Association of Frederick County, IAFF Local 3666. Additionally, Mr. Neary serves as a soccer coach for the Middletown Valley Athletic Association.

Joshua Pedersen came to the United Way of Frederick County in May 2010 to serve as the organization's chief executive officer. Before taking this role, Mr. Pedersen was the vice president to the United Way of Northern Utah.

Julie Ayers, Service-Learning Specialist for the Maryland Department of Education, oversees Maryland’s ground-breaking service-learning graduation requirement. She draws on her experience teaching in higher education settings and working in an anti-hunger nonprofit organization, and is able to provide support for issues she believes are critical for creating healthy communities. She is the designee on the Maryland Governor’s Commission on Service and Volunteerism for the State Superintendent of Schools.

Krista Gilmore works for Cecil County Department of Community Services and serves as the Retired & Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP) Project Director for Cecil and Harford County.

Dr. Marilyn Smith was as the founding executive director of the Governor's Office on Service and Volunteerism. She also served as the director of Learn and Serve America at the Corporation for National and Community Service and wrote her doctoral dissertation on the outcomes of course-based community service-learning for college students.

Michael P. Lewis, is an Education Consultant for Creative Intellectual Capital LLC and an Adjunct Professor at Frostburg State University. He is an active member of the Maryland Code of Conduct Workgroup for Maryland State Department of Education, and an executive board member for Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals.

Renée M. Winsky is the president and chief executive officer of Leadership Maryland, and the president and founder of Bay One Group, LLC. She is the former chief executive officer of the Tech Council of Maryland, and former president and executive director of the Technology Development Corporation.

Rosa M. Scharf is senior vice president at Howard Bank. She has served on the boards of the Making Change Foundation, The Jim Rouse Entrepreneurial Fund, and Boys Scouts of Central Maryland.

Stacey M. Ullrich has been the head of global philanthropy for Under Armour since 2012 and serves on boards for the Association of Baltimore Area Grantmakers; St. Agnes Foundation; Ronald McDonald House Charities of Baltimore, Inc.; Business Volunteers Unlimited; and the Corporate Advisory Board for the National Afterschool Association.

Tim Martin is a junior at the University of Maryland, College Park where he studies mathematics. Mr. Martin is an Eagle Scout and active member of the Boy Scouts of America where he serves as a lodge chief in the Order of the Arrow. He is also the president of the Alpha Delta Phi fraternity, Maryland Chapter.

William (Bill) Mandicott has been the Assistant Vice President at Frostburg State University for Student and Community Involvement since 2001.

Governor's Staff

Steven McAdams, ex officio, is the Executive Director of the Governor's Office of Community Initiatives.

Jeffrey Griffin, ex officio, is the Director of the Governor's Office on Service and Volunteerism.